ECP de-notifies PTI lawmaker Muhammad Mian Soomro

ISLAMABAD: The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has de-notified former federal minister for privatization and Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaaf (PTI) lawmaker Muhammad Mian Soomro after his long absence from the National Assembly.

Muhammad Mian Soomro, the scion of the influential Soomro family of Sindh, was elected to the National Assembly of Pakistan from NA-196 Jacobabad. He defeated the Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) lawmaker Mir Aijaz Hussain Jakhrani with a lead of over 6,000 votes.

Soon after the ECP de-notified Muhammad Mian Soomro, Speaker National Assembly Raja Pervaiz Ashraf officially declared his seat (NA-196) as vacant due to the lawmaker’s continuous absence from the House.

Mian Muhammad Soomro had earlier sought a leave from the Speaker National Assembly Raja Pervaiz Ashraf. However, the speaker said that the request was not made within time, rather it was made after the passage of the stipulated timeframe.

Raja Pervaiz Ashraf then presented the matter as a motion before the National Assembly, which then approved the de-notification of Muhammad Mian Soomro with a majority vote.

The ECP will soon announce a date for holding by-elections in the now vacant seat of NA-196, district Jacobabad.

Muhammad Mian Soomro had served as Federal Minister for Privatisation in the cabinet of Prime Minister Imran Khan from 2018 until the ouster of PTI’s government in 2022.

Earlier, Soomro had been elected as Chairman Senate and remained in that position from 2003 to 2009 under the Pervaiz Musharraf regime. The politician was also the Acting President of Pakistan from 2008 to 2009 and the Caretaker Prime Minister of Pakistan from 2007 to 2008.

Another feather was added to the veteran politician’s cap when he was nominated as the Governor of Sindh by the military regime of General Pervaiz Musharraf. He remained in the position for two years and was succeeded by Ishrat-ul-Ibad Khan on 26 December 2002.

His father, Ahmed Mian Soomro, had also served as Deputy Speaker and Senior Deputy Speaker of the West Pakistan Assembly.