High-powered committee notified to oversee PMO audio leaks probe

The committee will be ensuring that it covered all aspects of the matter within seven days.

Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif on Tuesday constituted a high-powered committee to oversee the investigation of audio leaks probe into the alleged conversations held in the Prime Minister’s House (PMO).

As per Baaghi TV report, the high powered committee comprising federal ministers and heads of secret agencies.

Pertinent to note that last month series of audio recordings of separate conversations purportedly featuring Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif, federal ministers of the ruling N- league and PTI chairman Imran Khan with former federal ministers surfaced on social media platforms.

According to a notification issued by the Cabinet Division, Interior Minister Rana Sanaullah will head the high-level committee.

The other members of the committee are: Law Minister Azam Nazir Tarar, Climate Change Minister Sherry Rehman, Information Minister Marriyum Aurangzeb, IT and Telecommunication Minister Aminul Haque.

Also, director-general of Inter-Services Intelligence (ISI), director-general of Intelligence Bureau (IB) and the cabinet’s secretary are part of the committee.

As per the Baaghi TV report, committee will be responsible for overseeing and reviewing the cyber security breach at the PMO.


The committee will be ensuring that it covered all aspects of the matter within seven days.

“[They will] review the existing cyber security protocols of the Prime Minister House/Office and suggest immediate measures and action plan to develop foolproof security systems and digital eco-system that insulates the cyberspace of PM Office/House from all kinds of intrusion (in seven days),” the notification said.