Indian squad finalized for Asia Cup 2022

Indian skipper Virat Kohli, who has been struggling with his form lately, has been inducted in India’s squad for the upcoming Asia Cup 2022. 

Meanwhile, fast-bowler Jasprit Bumrah could not make it into the final list due to an injury, the board of selectors said. Bumrah is believed to be suffering from back spasms and is undergoing rehab at the National Cricket Academy at Bangalore.

The tournament was last hosted by the United Arab Emirates in 2018, which was an ODI edition of the Asia Cup. However, in 2022, the tournament will be played in the T20 format.

The Indian side emerged victorious in Asia Cup 2018, trouncing Bangladesh in what proved to be an intense match. India has been the most successful side in Asia Cup’s history, having won the tournament 7 times and are the defending champions this year.

The first match of the Asia Cup is on August 28 between the arch-rivals India and Pakistan, in which the fans are eager to see whether India will be able to avenge the defeat they suffered by the greens in the T20 world cup last year.

Skipper Rohit Sharma has been named captain of the 15-man squad, meanwhile K.L. Rahul was given the vice-captaincy.

Players to play for India in Asia Cup 2022 are: Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, R. Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan, Virat Kohli, Deepak Hooda, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant.

Shahbaz Gill incites division within Pakistan Armed Forces

Pakistani athlete Arshad Nadeem won gold medal at CWG