Kohli steps down as India’s captain after being knocked out of World Cup

T20 World Cup: Virat Kohli leaves his post as captain after India’s inability at procuring a spot in the semi finals.

Rohit Sharma will replace Virat Kohli as India’s T20 captain when they take on New Zealand in a three-match T20 series this month as the country’s cricket board (BCCI) announced a 16-man squad on Tuesday. KL Rahul has been dubbed as Rohit’s deputy.

Kohli has been rested against New Zealand along with Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Shami, and all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja.

The selectors have made a number of differences to the squad that featured in the UAE, bringing in Ruturaj Gaikwad, Venkatesh Iyer, Avesh Khan and Harshal Patel, while dropping all-rounder Hardik Pandya.

The first T20 is scheduled for Jaipur on Nov. 17 followed by games in Ranchi on Nov. 19 and Kolkata on Nov. 21.

Stay tuned to Baaghi TV for latest news and updates!


Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!