NA Speaker Raja Pervez accepts remaining 43 resignations of PTI MNAs

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf suffered a major blow on Tuesday as National Assembly Speaker Raja Pervaiz Ashraf approved resignations of the remaining 43 PTI MNAs.

The sources further revealed that National Assembly Secretariat after getting speaker’s approval forwarded the latest lot of PTI resignations to the Election Commission of Pakistan for notifying them.

Now the number of resignations of PTI legislators approved by the NA speaker rose to 113.

The latest development came a day after PTI makers tried to meet NA speaker for withdrawal of their resignations but in vain. They later went to ECP where the chief elections commissioner assured them that the National Assembly speaker had not sent a summary for de-notifying more MNAs of their party.

“If the Speaker asks for de-notifying more PTI MNAs, we will consider your request,” the CEC told the PTI delegation.

Earlier on Monday, PTI leader Asad Umar had said that the party had emailed National Assembly Speaker Raja Pervaiz Ashraf informing him about their decision regarding resignations withdrawal. The party wanted to withdraw resignations of its 44 MNAs, not yet accepted by the NA speaker, he added.