Pakistan termed as ‘country of particular concern’

In a statement made by him on Friday, United States Secretary of State Antony Blinken announced the designation of Pakistan, Iran, Russia, China and the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia as countries of particular concern under the Religious Freedom Act. 

Secretary of State Blinken said that the countries designated as those of particular concern have been either engaged in or have been condoning severe violations of religious freedom.

Numerous other groups and entities, including the Wagner Group, a private paramilitary organization that is active in Syria, Africa and Ukraine were also termed as those of particular concern by Secretary of State Blinken. He promptly added that the Wagner Group had been named due to its activities in the Central African Republic.

Library Banner

Emphasizing on the graveness of the issue, Blinken said that governments and non-state actors around the world continue to kill, jail, harass and threaten individuals due to their beliefs.

The Secretary of State said that his country, the United States, will in no case stand by these abuses.

Antony Blinken lastly said that Washington would welcome the opportunity to meet with all governments to outline concrete steps for removal from the lists.

Punjab’s Women’s Violence Conviction Rate Is 5%

Punjab, KP Govts not breaking up: Faisal Vawda