PM Imran Khan, NA speaker will be tried under Article 6: Shahbaz Sharif

Apr 3, 2022: Following the dismissal of no-confidence motion against PM Imran Khan by Qasim Suri, Deputy Speaker of National Assembly, who is presiding over today’s session, the leader of Opposition in National Assembly Shahbaz Sharif said that Prime Minister and Speaker of National Assembly Asad Qaiser will be tried under Article.6 of the Constitution.

Shahbaz’s response came just minutes after Qasim Suri called the no-confidence motion “unconstitutional”, in a shock development after weeks of planning and intense lobbying.

Earlier, in a brief address to the nation after the NA session, Prime Minister Imran Khan said that after the “unconstitutional” nature of the no-confidence motion, he had advised President Dr Arif Alvi to dissolve the assemblies and call early elections.

Khan had earlier suggested on Saturday that he might not accept a vote to oust him, a move he alleged was being orchestrated by the United States.

“The move to oust me is blatant interference in domestic politics by the United States,” he said, terming it an attempt at “regime change”.

He told the nation to prepare for elections.

“No foreign power or any corrupt elements, but only you have to decide for this country.”

He said that as soon as the president receives his suggestion, the assemblies will be dissolved and the process of a caretaker government will start.

Meanwhile, responding to today’s developments, Bilawal Bhutto Zardari, chairman of the Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) said that the opposition will “initiate a legal battle” against the “unconstitutional ruling by the NA Deputy Speaker.”

“We will follow the constitution to deal with the situation,” he said.

Similarly, reacting to the government’s decision to dissolve assemblies, Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz’s (PML-N) Marriyum Aurangzeb said that the opposition too had a surprise for the government which, she said, will be announced shortly.

Stay tuned to BaaghiTV for latest news and Updates!

No-trust motion against PM Imran Khan unconstitutional: Deputy Speaker Qasim Suri