PSL 2022: Multan Sultans continue their winning streak

Sultans secure play-offs spot with crushing win over Zalmi

In the 16th match of the seventh edition of Pakistan Super League (PSL), Multan Sultans continued their winning streak by defeating Peshawar Zalmi by 42 runs to record their sixth consecutive victory.

According to the details, the 16th PSL match was played at Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore where Peshawar Zalmi won the toss and elected to bowl first against Multan Sultans. Multan Sultans openers Shan Masood and Mohammad Rizwan once again gave their team a good start and put up a 98-run partnership for the first wicket.

Muhammad Rizwan’s 34-run innings came to an end at the hands of Zalmi’s skipper Wahab Riaz. Shan teamed up with the new batsman Tim David to take the score to 131 and at the same stage, after scoring 68 off 49 balls, gave the wicket to Salman Irshad.

Tim David once again batted aggressively and scored 34 off 18 balls with the help of 3 sixes and 2 fours while Rilee Russouw scored 15 runs. Sultans scored 182 runs for the loss of 7 wickets in the 20 overs. Saqib Mahmood, Wahab Riaz and Salman Irshad took two wickets each for Peshawar Zalmi.

Chasing the target, Zalmi’s innings did not start well as Kamran Akmal was bowled out after scoring only four runs. After losing two wickets for five runs, Shoaib Malik came to support Liam Livingston and both of them started advancing the score. The score had reached 42 when Livingston’s innings of 24 off 16 balls came to an end while Hussain Talat could also score only four runs.

Shoaib Malik teamed up with Sherfane Rutherford to add 40 runs and take the score to 91 when Blessing Muzarabani took the third wicket. Zalmi’s last hope of winning the match was dashed when Shoaib Malik became Imran Tahir’s wicket after scoring 44 runs.

After that Ben Cutting got some big shots and scored 23 runs off 11 balls but his attempt did not help Zalmi. Peshawar Zalmi’s entire team was bowled out for 140 in the last over of the innings and the Sultans won the match by 42 runs.

For the Sultans, Zimbabwean fast bowler Muzarabani bowled brilliantly and took three wickets for 18 runs while Shahnawaz Dahani took two wickets. Shan Masood was declared the best player of the match for his brilliant half century.

Earlier, Multan Sultans made one change in the team while Peshawar Zalmi made two changes.

Multan Sultans defeated Peshawar Zalmi by 57 runs in the first match played between the two teams in PSL seventh edition.

Playing XIs

Multan Sultans: Shan Masood, Mohammad Rizwan (c)(wk), Sohaib Maqsood, Rilee Rossouw, Tim David, Khushdil Shah, Anwar Ali, Abbas Afridi, Imran Tahir, Blessing Muzarabani, Shahnawaz Dahani

Peshawar Zalmi: Kamran Akmal (wk), Liam Livingstone, Haider Ali, Shoaib Malik, Sherfane Rutherford, Ben Cutting, Hussain Talat, Wahab Riaz (c), Saqib Mahmood, Mohammad Umar, Salman Irshad

Stay tuned to Baaghi TV for latest news and updates!

Leave a reply