Punjab Assembly to elect new CM tomorrow

LAHORE: The Punjab Assembly will meet on Sunday to elect a new Leader of the House after Usman Buzdar resigned in favour of PML-Q’s Pervaiz Elahi.

During the session today, the election schedule was issued according to which voting for the chief ministership will be held tomorrow at 3 pm.

According to details, the nomination papers for the elections can be obtained from the provincial assembly secretariat till 5 pm today (Saturday).

Pervaiz Elahi accepts PM’s offer to become CM Punjab

On Friday, Governor Chaudhry Muhammad Sarwar accepted the resignation of Usman Buzdar.

Earlier, the session today held to announce the election schedule began with a delay of over four hours.

It is pertinent to mention here that PML-N’s Hamza Shahbaz has emerged as a strong candidate to secure the assembly’s confidence after the support of the Jahangir Khan Tareen group following a meeting between the leaders of the two sides in London.

It should also be noted that once the nomination papers for the chief minister’s office are submitted and the scrutiny process concludes, the candidate who secures the votes of the majority of the total membership of the assembly will be declared the chief minister.

But if no candidate secures the vote of the majority in the first poll, the speaker shall conduct a second poll between the candidates who secure the two highest number of votes in the first poll.

Punjab CM Usman Buzdar presents his resignation to PM

The speaker then shall declare the candidate who secures the majority of votes of members present as the chief minister.

In case there is a tie during the second poll, the speaker shall hold further polls between them until one of them secures the majority of votes of members present and voting.

Stay tuned to Baaghi TV for more. Doawnload our app for the latest news, updates and interesting content!