Punjab Assembly to vote to elect new leader of the house

Apr 3, 2022: Following the resignation of Chief Minister Usman Bazdar, voting for the new Leader of the House will be held in the Punjab Assembly today.

Chaudhry Pervez Elahi of PML-Q and Hamza Shahbaz of PML-N will face each other in the race to become the next Chief Minister. Lawmakers are currently arriving for the Punjab Assembly session, which will resume soon.

The federal government in a surprise move on Sunday removed Punjab Governor Chaudhry Muhammad Sarwar from his post. This development has come a few hours before the important sessions of the National and Punjab Assemblies.

The government has appointed Omar Sarfraz Cheema as the new governor of Punjab.

The Punjab Assembly session on Saturday, which began after a four-hour delay, was adjourned just minutes after its commencement. Meanwhile, Leader of Opposition in the Punjab Assembly Hamza Shahbaz said that he has a majority in the Provincial Assembly, the next Chief Minister will be from PML-N.

Stay tuned to BaaghiTV for latest news and Updates!

Opposition tables no-confidence motion against NA speaker