Shehbaz Sharif takes oath as prime minister of Pakistan

ISLAMABAD: Shehbaz Sharif took oath on Monday as the 23rd prime minister of Pakistan.

His oath was administered by Senate Chairman Sadiq Sanjrani as President Arif Alvi complained of “discomfort”, according to the president’s Twitter account, hours before the oath-taking ceremony.

Shehbaz was elected as the premier after the ouster of PTI Chairman Imran Khan through a no-confidence motion.

Earlier yesterday, Shehbaz secured 174 votes in the NA as opposed to PTI’s candidate Shah Mehmood Qureshi who received no votes after his party decided to boycott the polling process.

Resignations from PTI MNAs pour in ahead of PM election

The poll took place under the chairmanship of PML-N MNA Ayaz Sadiq, two days after the lower house of Parliament voted in favour of removing Imran Khan from office, following a 14-hour standoff between the Opposition and Khan’s ruling party that started on Saturday morning.

It should also be noted that Shehbaz is the longest-serving chief minister of Punjab, having served on the post three times since he began his political career nearly four decades ago.

Shehbaz is the graduate of Government College in Lahore. He first came into the spotlight in 1985, when he was appointed the president of the Lahore Chamber of Commerce and Industry.

Ukraine’s Zelenskyy says peace talks with Russia beginning to sound “more realistic”

But his foray into politics began in 1988 when Sharif was elected as a member of the Punjab Assembly (MPA). He served for a short stint, till 1990 when the assembly was dissovled.

The same year, he contested and won a national assembly constituency and became a member of the lower house of Pakistan’s Parliament. In 1993, he again returned to the Punjab assembly and was appointed leader of the opposition till 1996.

In 1997, Sharif won a Punjab constituency for the third time and went on to become the chief minister of Punjab, Pakistan’s most politically important province.

In 2008, he was again elecetd as the member of the Punjab Assembly and became the chief minister of Punjab for the second time. the situation was repeated in 2013 when PMNL won elections.

Stay tuned to Baaghi TV for more. Downlaod our app for the latest news, updates and interesting content!