Sibtain Khan takes oath as new Punjab Assembly speaker

N-league accuses PTI for missing ballot papers, demands new election


PTI and PMLQ joint candidate Sibtain Khan has defeated the PML-N nominee Saiful Malook Khokhar, to become the new Speaker of the Punjab Assembly.

Four MPAs including Chaudhary Nisar Ahmed, Jalil Abbas Sharaqpuri, Kashif Mehmood and Chaudhry Masood did not cast their votes.

As per the results, PTI’s Sabtain got 185 votes against PML-N’s Saif who just bagged 175 votes.

Right after the announcement, Sibtain Khan took oath as new PA speaker.

Punjab Chief Minister Pervez Elahi and former CM Usman Buzdar congratulated the newly elected speaker of the assembly.

Panel of Chairman Wasim Badozai announced the victory of PTI candidate.

Polling agent of the PTI has announced that Sibtain Khan has got the required votes.

PML-N has raised questions on the polling process and at 8am the polling was temporarily halted.

Punjab Chief Minister Pervez Elahi and Opposition leader Hamza Shehbaz Sharif reached Punjab Assembly for the crucial contest of speaker and deputy speaker of the PA.

Former chief minister of Punjab, Hamza Shehbaz, when reached the PA building, said that his party would contest the elections and his strength stood same.

The polling for the speaker contest has been underway and Iftikhar Gillani PP-254 casted the first vote. He came on a wheelchair due to his illness.

On the demand of the opposition, the polling booth place was changed.

Penal of Chair said that all allegations of the opposition will be heard and addressed.

Earlier, members of Punjab Assembly belonging to the ruling alliance of Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) and Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid (PML-Q), submitted a no-trust resolution against Deputy Speaker Dost Muhammad Mazari in the provincial assembly on Thursday.

PTI’s Raja Basharat submitted the resolution to the assembly’s secretariat on behalf of MPAs of the alliance, which was passed by a majority vote.

The voting for the deputy speaker as per the no confidence motion will also be held today.