Voting in by-election for NA-240 Karachi underway



Polling in the by-poll for NA-240 Karachi has been kicked off at 309 polling stations set up in 133 buildings of the constituency wherein 25 candidates are contesting.

Pertinent to note that Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) and Jamaat-i-Islami (JI) had announced the boycott of the by-poll.

ECP has declared 203 polling stations of the constituency ‘extremely sensitive’.

The seat had fallen vacant on account the death of MQM-P’s Iqbal Muhammad Ali.

Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan’s (MQM-P) Muhammad Abu Bakr, Pakistan Peoples Party’s (PPP) Nasir Lodhi and Pak Sarzameen Party’s (PSP) Shabbir Qaimkhani are main contestants.

Out of 25, there are 18 independents and seven represent different political parties.

http://Voting in by-election for NA-240 Karachi underway