Big battle is over, who won the coveted seat of Senate Chairman?

Lahore, 12th March: The final result of the Senate Elections for the key post of the chairman has been announced.

According to Baaghi TV reports, PTI’s candidate, Sadiq Sanjrani has won the crucial Senate chairman election over Yousaf Raza Gillani, fielded by the Pakistan Democratic Movement (PDM), marking a significant victory for the ruling party.

The voting for the post of Senate chairman concluded just moments ago after which the vote count began at 5 pm.

According to the presiding officer, 98 senators cast their votes to elect a new Senate chairman on Friday.

The crucial contest for the top Senate slots began after the presiding officer (PO) Syed Muzaffar Hussain Shah administered the oath to the newly-elected senators earlier today.

Senate Secretariat officials conducted the polls today in the Upper House.

The counting has shown that at least 5 votes were wasted due to technical flaws but any party that received 49 votes was to claim the seat.

It is pertinent to mention here that 10 days ago during the Senate Elections 2021, the PDM’s Yousaf Raza Gillani had won from his Islamabad seat, beating Finance Minister Abdul Hafeez Shaikh — associated with PTI.

As per reports, Gilani had bagged 169 votes, whereas Shaikh got 164 and 1 vote had not been cast.

Stay tuned to Baaghi TV to read all the latest news and updates!



Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.