GB Elections: The crucial next few hours

Gilgit, 13th November: The next few hours are very important as elections in Gilgit-Baltistan are taking place today.

According to reports, the Gilgit-Baltistan election is being called Pakistan’s elections. Analysts monitoring the Gilgit-Baltistan elections say that if these elections are not called Pakistan’s elections, it will not be fair.

On the other hand, according to the latest reports, the ground has been prepared for the third Gilgit-Baltistan Provincial Assembly elections and there are only a few counts left in the polling. Central leaders of all major political parties are busy in rallies.

Voting for 23 seats will take place on Sunday, while voting in one constituency will take place on November 23 due to the death of a candidate.

The number of registered voters in Gilgit-Baltistan is 7,45,361, of which 45,363 are male and 339,998 are female voters.

A total of 327 candidates are vying for 23 of the 24 seats in the Gilgit-Baltistan Legislative Assembly. Of these, 128 have been nominated by different political parties while 197 candidates are contesting the elections individually and individually.

PPP Chairman Bilawal Bhutto Zardari, PML-N Vice President Maryam Nawaz are present in Gilgit-Baltistan while several central leaders of the ruling party PTI Murad Saeed, Zulfi Bukhari, Ali Amin Gandapur and others are present at the election rallies. 

The opposition Pakistan People’s Party has fielded candidates from all constituencies, while the PTI and PML-N have 21 candidates each. Both parties have made one seat adjustment with smaller parties or independent candidates.

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) has reached an agreement with Jamaat-e-Wahdat-e-Muslimeen for one seat. Meanwhile, 8 candidates of the Islamic Movement of Pakistan are in the fray.

15 of Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid-e-Azam, 12 of Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam (JUI-F), three of Jamaat-e-Islami, four of Muttahida Qaumi Movement, while Pak-Sar-Zamin Party, All Pakistan Muslim League, Gilgit-Baltistan Qaumi Movement, Majlis-e-Wahdat-e-Muslimeen and Rah-e-Haq party have 3 candidates each in the election arena.

Two each from Pakistan Barabri Party and Pakistan Awami League while one candidate from Awami Workers Party is in the fray.

Awami Workers Party chief Baba Jan is serving a 28-year sentence on anti-state charges. Many important and leading leaders of his party are running as independents.

Stay tuned to Baaghi TV for all the latest news and updates!

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.