BCCI urges ICC to not recognise Kashmir Premier League

Aug 2, 2021: The BCCI has written to the ICC not to recognize the Kashmir Premier League (KPL), Pakistan’s local T20 tournament which is scheduled to start on August 6.

On Saturday, the PCB expressed its displeasure over the BCCI’s efforts to interfere in the internal affairs of the PCB. It was based on reports that the BCCI was in contact with several other full members to try to prevent players from these countries from joining the league.

Former South African opener Herschelle Gibbs, who is expected to play in the league, said on Twitter that he had been threatened that he would not be allowed to enter India for any work related to cricket. Ludicrous.”

But now it has come to light that the BCCI had also approached the ICC. The BCCI’s complaint is based on the status of Kashmir as a disputed area – and whether matches can be played in such areas – and has been at the center of a long-running dispute between the two countries.

Kashmir’s status has been the cause of many wars between India and Pakistan since India gained independence and became Pakistan in 1947. Political and diplomatic relations between the two countries have been volatile over the years and are currently going through a long period of decline.

Relations between the two boards usually follows the pattern of the political climate of the day, and this latest controversy will only add to the already tense relationship.

The two sides have not played a bilateral series since 2012-13 or a Test match since 2007-08, although they do face each other regularly in ICC events.

But it seems the ICC can do little about the KPL complaint from BCCI. Such domestic leagues are approved by the full member country in which the tournament is being played and not by the ICC and KPL will go ahead with the approval of the PCB.

There is nothing in the ICC rules about matches in disputed areas and so the BCCI bid to block foreign players from the league seem illegitimate.

The KPL six-team franchise has been approved by the Model League, PCB and will be played at the Muzaffarabad Cricket Stadium in Pakistan-administered Kashmir from August 6.

The squads were selected in a draft last month and will be captained by Shahid Afridi, Shoaib Malik, Emad Wasim, Muhammad Hafeez, Kamran Akmal and Shadab Khan, according to the organizers.

The BCCI’s concern, however, is that foreign players have been signed with the league on the grounds that international players change the face of the tournament in to something more than just a domestic event and give it an international legitimacy.

The foreign players on the teams’ roster have retired and include Monty Panesar, Matt Prior, Phil Mustard, Tino Best, Tillakaratne Dilshan and Gibbs.

Through discussions with several boards, the BCCI has made it clear that these players will be considered rebels and will be treated in the same way as any non-recognized league participants.

Stay tuned to BaaghiTV for latest news and Updates!

BCCI shows stubbornness towards Herschelle Gibbs issue

Macron sues billboard owner for depicting him as Hitler