COVID-19: More countries ban travel to the UK


London, 21st December: More countries ban travel to the United Kingdom after the spread of a strain of new coronavirus raises concern.

Baaghi TV: According to reports, more countries have banned arrivals from the UK because of concerns at the spread of a new variant of coronavirus.

According to reports from BBC News, Hong Kong has joined the likes of Switzerland, Germany, and Italy to suspend flights to the UK. On Sunday, France shut its border with the UK for 48 hours, meaning no lorries or ferry passengers will be able to sail from the port of Dover.


Nations including Belgium, the Irish Republic and Canada have also suspended their flights. Austria is also set to bring in a ban, while Bulgaria has suspended flights to and from the UK from midnight. Unlike the short-term measures in many other nations, its ban lasts until 31 January.


The prime minister will chair a meeting of the government’s emergency committee later. European Union member states are due to meet in Brussels to discuss a coordinated response.

It is noteworthy that the new strain of coronavirus identified in the United Kingdom is up to 70% more infectious. Prime Minister Boris Johnson and scientists said on Saturday that the new coronavirus is not thought to be more deadly and vaccines should still be effective.

According to recent reports, coronavirus cases in the UK have risen by 35,928 on Sunday, which is nearly double the number recorded seven days previously. And it was announced that a further 326 people died within 28 days of testing positive, bringing the nation’s total to 67,401.

Stay tuned to Baaghi TV to read all the latest updates!

PIA Flights to Saudi Arabia Suspended


Leave a reply