ICC Champions Trophy 2025: Will India Come to Pakistan?

New Delhi: The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Tuesday confirmed the 14 host countries of the ICC men’s white ball events from 2024-2031 in which Pakistan was awarded the hosting rights for ICC Champions Trophy 2025.

According to the details, Pakistan as a host of the ICC Champions Trophy 2025 has become a very hot topic in India and Indian Minister of Sports, Anurag Singh Thakur, has shared his views on it. Media reports tell that the Indian Sports minister has announced his take on the matter.

Due to political tensions between the two neighbouring countries, India vs Pakistan is now the only thing to worry for the the ICC event organizers. Indian cricket team has last visited Pakistan in the 2008 Asia Cup. While talking to Indian media, Anurag Thakur said that the Interior Ministry will be involved in the decision and a decision will be taken only after deliberation.

Anurag Thakur, who is also the former Board of Cricket Control India (BCCI) president, said that, “we will see what to do when the time comes. The Interior Ministry will be involved in the decision-making process. Recently, many countries have been reluctant to go to Pakistan for security reasons. At this point, we will review the security again and make a decision.”

14 ICC Members to host ICC men’s events post 2023
Pakistan to host the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in 2025

It should be noted that Pakistan will return to major cricket tournaments after more than two decades, when the country will host the Champions Trophy in 2025. Pakistan, who had last co-hosted the 1996 World Cup along with India and Sri Lanka, have not been able to host many international games in the country since the unfortunate 2009 terrorist attack on Sri Lankan team bus in Lahore.

Moreover, the United States (US) and the West Indies were jointly selected to host the T20 World Cup in 2024. This will be the first world tournament in North America.

According to the announcement, India will host three ICC tournaments next season, including the T20 World Cup 2026 and the Men’s World Cup in 2031. India will co-host the 50-over World Cup with Sri Lanka and Bangladesh. In addition, India will also host the Champions Trophy in 2029.

Pakistan Beats India in High-Voltage T20 World Cup match
Mohammad Rizwan Overtakes Virat Kohli in ICC T20 Rankings

The ICC Champions Trophy was last held in the United Kingdom (UK) in 2017 and will return to the ICC calendar eight years after the tournament. New Zealand and England recently withdrew from the tour of Pakistan and it remains to be seen whether the teams are finally ready to travel to Pakistan.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) today confirmed the 14 host countries of the men’s white ball events from 2024-2031. 11 Full Members and three Associate Members have been selected to host two Men’s Cricket World Cups, four Men’s T20 World Cups and two Men’s Champions Trophy events, the ICC said in a press release.

Stay tuned to Baaghi TV for latest news and updates!