ICC officially launched the World Test Championship

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has officially launched the inaugural edition of World Test Championship (WTC), which will commence from August 1, 2019.

The top nine test teams of the world – Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka and the West Indies – will compete in 71 Test matches across 27 series, played over two years.

The best two teams will contest in the ICC World Test Championship Final that is to be played in June 2021 in the United Kingdom.

“The ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup this summer showed just how important it is for every game to count and for the world’s best teams to go head-to-head. The World Test Championship will bring relevance and context to bilateral Test cricket over the next two years, creating a pinnacle event for the five-day format, just as the World Cups for men and women do in the ODI and T20I formats,” Geoff Allardice, ICC General Manager – Cricket Operations said in an official statement.

“We are awaiting the ICC World Test Championship with great enthusiasm as it adds context to the longest format of the game.Test cricket is very challenging and coming out on top in the traditional form is always highly satisfying. The Indian team has done really well in recent years and will be fancying its chances in the championship,” said Indian skipper Virat Kohli.

The first test match of WTC will be played between England and Australia at Edgbaston, the United Kingdom from Thursday.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.