“I am pleased New Zealand Cricket has accepted our offer to play two additional Twenty20 Internationals. These will not only provide extra games to both the countries as part of their ICC Men’s T20 World Cup preparations, but will also allow New Zealand players to spend extra days in Pakistan, familiarise with our culture and enjoy our hospitality.

Noor Muqaddam Case: Court Gives Verdict on Bail Pleas of Zahir Jaffer’s Parents

“With leading cricket playing countries resuming their tours to Pakistan in 2019, I remain confident and optimistic that the 2021-22 season starting with the series against New Zealand will prove to be a catalyst in rejuvenating our talented youngsters while attracting new fans to the game that has the most passionate following in the country.”

NZC Chief Executive David White: “We’re very much looking forward to returning to Pakistan for the start of their home international season.

“New Zealand was the first country outside India to tour Pakistan and we share a close relationship with the PCB. It’s great that, after such a difficult time for Pakistan, international cricket is again being played in the country.”

In the Super League, Pakistan have 40 points from nine ODIs, while New Zealand have won all three ODIs and are presently sitting pretty on 30 points. The seven top-ranked sides and World Cup hosts India will progress directly for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 to take place in India in October/November 2023.

“I Sold Kinza for 100,000 Rupees in Sahiwal”, Shocking Revelations by the Accused

New Zealand last toured Pakistan in November 2003 when they played five ODIs. A year before, their last Test appearance in Pakistan was at the Gaddafi Stadium in May 2002, which is remembered for Inzamam-ul-Haq’s 329 and Shoaib Akhtar’s six for 11 in the first innings that set the platform for an innings and 324-run victory.

Since the 2003 ODI series, Pakistan have thrice hosted New Zealand for ODIs in the United Arab Emirates with the Black Caps winning the 2009-10 and 2014-15 series )2-1 and 3-2, respectively) and drawing the 2018-19 series 1-1.

However, Pakistan won the 2009-10 and 2018-19 T20I series by 2-0 and 3-0, respectively, while the 2014-15 series was tied at 1-1. New Zealand drew the 2014-15 Test series 1-1 and won the 2018-19 series by 2-1.

Series schedule

  • 11 Sep – Arrival in Islamabad
  • 12-14 Sep – Room isolation
  • 15-16 Sep – Training/practice/intra-squad match
  • 17 Sep – 1st ODI, Rawalpindi
  • 19 Sep – 2nd ODI, Rawalpindi
  • 21 Sep – 3rd ODI, Rawalpindi
  • 25 Sep – 1st T20I, Lahore
  • 26 Sep – 2nd T20I, Lahore
  • 29 Sep – 3rd T20I, Lahore
  • 1 Oct – 4th T20I, Lahore
  • 3 Oct – 5th T20I, Lahore

Stay tuned to Baaghi TV for latest news and updates!