UAE suspends visas for Pakistan and several others


Lahore, 25th November: The United Arab Emirates (UAE) has temporarily stopped issuing new visas to citizens of Pakistan, Afghanistan and several Muslim majority countries.

Baaghi TV: The news of visa suspension by the UAE has come after security concerns, a source told Reuters on Wednesday.

The source did not say what those concerns were but said the visa ban was expected to last for a short period.

According to Dawn News, who reached out to the Foreign Office for a comment on this, reported hat last week, the Foreign Office said the UAE had stopped processing new visas for Pakistani citizens and those of some other countries.

It said it was seeking information from the UAE on the reason for the suspension and thought it was related to the coronavirus pandemic.

The FO and the source said those holding valid visas were not affected by the new restrictions and could enter the UAE.

According to a document, issued by a state-owned business park, UAE has stopped issuing new visas to citizens of 13 countries, including Iran, Syria and Somalia. As per Reuters, the document cited an immigration circular that came into effect on November 18.

It said applications for new employment and visit visas had been suspended for nationals, who are outside the UAE, of the 13 countries, including Pakistan, Afghanistan, Libya and Yemen, until further notice.

The visa ban also applies to citizens of Algeria, Kenya, Iraq, Lebanon, Tunisia and Turkey, the document says.

It is still not clear if there are any exceptions to the ban.

The UAE’s Federal Authority for Identity and Citizenship had no immediate comment when contacted by Reuters.

Keep reading news on Baaghi TV to get further details in this story!

India to Ban Chinese Mobile Apps


Leave a reply