West Indies Win Test Toss and Ask Sri Lanka to Bat

North Sound, Antigua and Barbuda, March 21 7:19pm (AFP/APP): West Indies captain Kraigg Brathwaite won the toss and put Sri Lanka in to bat in the first Test of their two-match series in Antigua on Sunday.

Installed as full-time skipper in place of Jason Holder following a 2-0 series triumph in Bangladesh in February, Brathwaite’s side shows faith in the nucleus of that surprise success with senior batsman Darren Bravo – one of 12 players who opted out of the Bangladesh tour due to Covid 19 concerns – omitted from the final XI. Sri Lanka have endured a miserable Caribbean campaign so far, losing the T20 international series 2-1 and then being swept 3-0 in the one-day internationals.

However one of their few encouraging performers from the earlier matches, middle-order batsman Pathum Nissanka, has been given a Test debut. Like the West Indies, they have named three pacers in their line-up on a pitch at the Sir Vivian Richards Stadium expected to offer assistance to the faster bowlers.


West Indies – Kraigg Brathwaite (captain), John Campbell, Nkrumah Bonner, Kyle Mayers, Jermaine Blackwood, Joshua da Silva (wicketkeeper), Jason Holder, Alzarri Joseph, Kemar Roach, Rahkeem Cornwall, Shannon Gabriel.

Sri Lanka – Dimuth Karunaratne (captain), Lahiru Thirimanne, Oshada Fernando, Dinesh Chandimal, Pathum Nissanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Niroshan Dickwella (wicketkeeper), Suranga Lakmal, Vishwa Fernando, Lasith Embuldeniya, Dushmantha Chameera.

Umpires: Joel Wilson (TRI), Gregory Brathwaite (BAR)

Match Referee: Richie Richardson (ANT)

Stay tuned to Baaghi TV for latest news and updates!

Marseille Slump to Nice Defeat, Genesio’s Rennes Win Again